The award ceremony will take place next year coinciding with the 70th anniversary of the Atlantic Alliance NATO, new FAES Freedom Award


    _FAES recognizes its fundamental work in defense of freedom and the role it will have to play in the future facing new threats.

    _Aznar personally communicated the proposal to award NATO to its Secretary General, Jens Stoltenberg.

    _Previous winners include G. Sartori, M. Thatcher, Don Juan Carlos, S. Peres, E. Krauze, L. Almagro, M. Vargas Llosa and the North American think tanks IRI and NDI

The Board of Trustees of the FAES Foundation, at the proposal of its President, José María Aznar, has unanimously ratified in an ordinary meeting the awarding of the 9th FAES Freedom Award to NATO, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. With this award, FAES expresses its recognition to the fundamental work that the Atlantic Alliance carries out in defense of freedom and to the determining role that it will have to play in the near future facing new threats.

José María Aznar personally communicated the proposal for the NATO award to his Secretary General, Jens Stoltenberg, at the meeting they recently held at their headquarters in Brussels. The award ceremony will take place next year, coinciding with the organization’s 70th anniversary.


In 2009, on the twentieth anniversary of its creation, the FAES Foundation instituted the FAES Award for Freedom in recognition of international personalities and institutions that have distinguished themselves in the promotion and defense of democracy and freedom. In previous editions, King Juan Carlos, Margaret Thatcher, Shimon Peres, Mario Vargas Llosa, Enrique Krauze, Giovani Sartori, the American think tanks National Democratic Institute, NDI, and International Republican Institute, IRI, and Luis Almagro have all received the award.

#Freedom #NATO #Atlanticism #Democracy #FAES Freedom Award